Let’s keep things sub-optimal

Offering a contrarian opinion to productivity hacks

xine way 🌟
2 min readJul 25, 2024
Photo of author facing monumental changes ;P

What if I don’t want to read “7 Ways to Optimize Your Life?”

What if I don’t want to maximize productivity each and every day of my life?

What if I want to live slowly, savor every moment when I can, and rise to the challenge when things get tough?

I feel like if everything’s going my way, I easily grow complacent.

And then I grow restless. Because I want more. I chase the high.

Lately, I’ve been pumping myself full of caffeine to avoid sleeping through my life. I’ve had elevated mood, increased energy, and racing thoughts.

Does that sound like mania? Maybe. Or I’m just happy for once.

But now, I’m getting bored. My last problem-to-solve was obtaining this job that seemed somewhat out of reach.

I got it now, so now what?

Sometimes I get tired of goal-setting and creating to-do lists that never end.

Sometimes I get tired of thinking so much about what I’m doing, my identity, and how I fit in the world in general.

What’s my life’s purpose?

Is it to bring a smile to the people around me?

Is it to be kind and trusting, even when everything in the world screams for me to become jaded and cynical?

I don’t know. I’m still trying to figure it out.

But I do think that when things aren’t going my way, that’s when I learn and grow the most.

So I guess I’ll enjoy this time for a bit before the next thing hits me.

We’ll see what happens then.

--

--

xine way 🌟

Aspiring librarian who writes, games, and walks on the side. Always happy to connect with writers on Medium!